About the University of Nebraska

As a land grant institution established in 1871, the University of Nebraska has been the State's most comprehensive institution of higher education and a leading American University. The University of Nebraska operates on four campuses: (1) the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL), (2) the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha (UNMC), (3) the University of Nebraska-Omaha (UNO), and (4) the University of Nebraska-Kearney (UNK).

The Ph.D. specializations within the Child, Youth and Family Studies Department are a University of Nebraska-Lincoln programs; however, faculty are housed on UNL and UNO campuses and graduate students in the CYAF Department take classes on UNL, UNO and UNMC campuses. The University of Nebraska-Lincoln is proud to have received the Research I Classification from the Carnegie Foundation, the highest classification given.

In addition to the Graduate College, the Lincoln campus is the site of eight undergraduate colleges and the Colleges of Dentistry and Law. The University of Nebraska-Lincoln has approximately 1,400 faculty members and more than 23,000 students, including nearly 5,000 graduate students. The Lincoln campus features a variety of theatrical and musical performances, as well as the Sheldon Art Gallery and the University of Nebraska State Museum. The University of Nebraska participates in a wide variety of NCAA men's and women's sports, including basketball, football, softball, baseball, golf and gymnastics; and UNL is a member of the Big 10 College Athletic Conference.